[AniMov] Homerange Plugin Problem

Anne Ghisla a.ghisla at gmail.com
Tue Jan 5 18:29:37 CET 2010


On Tue, 2010-01-05 at 08:43 -0800, acorbit at hotmail.com wrote:
> Hi,
> 
> I'm newbie with QGIS and the HomeRange plugin. Thanks to this mailing list I 
> just figured out how to overcome the "RHOME problem" to get the plugin to 
> install. Now I have another problem in that the plugin simply won't work. 
> The plugin window comes up but when I click "ok" to run the analysis I get 
> the following Python error:
> 
> An error has occured while executing Python code:
> 
> Traceback (most recent call last):
[..]
>     if not robjects.r.require(i)[0]:
> NameError: global name 'robjects' is not defined
[..]
> 
> I really have no idea how to fix this problem. Any help would be 
> appreciated.

Apologies, it's a bug in the code. The control for rpy2 is weak, it
simply prints a message in the shell, that is not available on Windows,
and let the plugin load the interface independently of the check.

This error means that rpy2 is not installed - or not visible to QGIS.
You can further test in QGIS' Python shell typing

import rpy2.robjects as robjects

If rpy2 is missing, download it from SourceForge (be careful, rpy is not
suitable) and install it. If you have the standalone install, this way
is ok, if you use OSGeo4W, pick python-rpy2 package - if you install
rpy2 for system Python, it would be ignored by QGIS.

If the above test succeeds and HR plugin fails, please drop a mail with
more details about the whole installation.

Hope this helps!

Anne

> 
> -Aaron Corbit
> 
> --------------------------------------------------
> From: <animov-request at faunalia.it>
> Sent: Tuesday, January 05, 2010 3:00 AM
> To: <animov at faunalia.it>
> Subject: AniMov Digest, Vol 52, Issue 1
> 
> > Send AniMov mailing list submissions to
> > animov at faunalia.it
> >
> > To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> > http://lists.faunalia.it/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/animov
> > or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> > animov-request at faunalia.it
> >
> > You can reach the person managing the list at
> > animov-owner at faunalia.it
> >
> > When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> > than "Re: Contents of AniMov digest..."
> >
> >
> > Today's Topics:
> >
> >   1. HomeRange plugin - installation problem (Mathieu Ouellette)
> >   2. Re: HomeRange plugin - installation problem (Anne Ghisla)
> >   3. Re: HomeRange plugin - installation problem (Giovanni Manghi)
> >
> >
> > ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 1
> > Date: Mon, 4 Jan 2010 23:52:15 -0500
> > From: Mathieu Ouellette <ouellette.mathieu at gmail.com>
> > Subject: [AniMov] HomeRange plugin - installation problem
> > To: animov at faunalia.it
> > Message-ID:
> > <97a1b4331001042052t11e2e45cw8ee38f15deab20cb at mail.gmail.com>
> > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
> >
> > Hi,
> >
> > I'm a newbie with Quantum GIS (I got it 2 days ago) and I probably have a
> > very newbie problem.
> >
> > I have a problem with the installation of the HomeRange plugin. I get the
> > following error message: "Unable to determine R version from the 
> > registery.
> > Calling the command 'R RHOME' does not return anything. This might be
> > because R.exe is nowhere in your Path."
> >
> > I use Windows XP, QGIS 1.3.0. "Mimas" and R 2.9.1. I also installed 
> > Python,
> > R packages rgdal and adehabitat and rpy2 as stated in the install file of
> > the HomeRange_plugin (I must admit I only have a vague idea of what is
> > Python and rpy2 are). However, in the QGIS Wiki page of HomeRange plugin, 
> > it
> > is written that "libraries *MUST* be installed with the OSGeo4W 
> > installer".
> > Maybe it is the source of my problem, because I have not use OSGeo4W to
> > install the previous items (in fact I still don't know how to use it and I
> > have so much to learn in the open source gis world). Does anyone have an
> > idea of what could be the problem?
> >
> > Thank you very much for your help,
> >
> > Mathieu Ouellette
> > ouellette.mathieu at gmail.com
> > -------------- next part --------------
> > An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> > URL: 
> > <http://lists.faunalia.it/pipermail/animov/attachments/20100104/cf115006/attachment.html>
> >
> > ------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 2
> > Date: Tue, 05 Jan 2010 10:03:12 +0100
> > From: Anne Ghisla <a.ghisla at gmail.com>
> > Subject: Re: [AniMov] HomeRange plugin - installation problem
> > To: Animal Movement <animov at faunalia.it>
> > Message-ID: <1262682192.3449.17.camel at galadriel.uagra.net>
> > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
> >
> > On Mon, 2010-01-04 at 23:52 -0500, Mathieu Ouellette wrote:
> >> Hi,
> >
> >> I'm a newbie with Quantum GIS (I got it 2 days ago) and I probably
> >> have a very newbie problem.
> >>
> >>
> >> I have a problem with the installation of the HomeRange plugin. I get
> >> the following error message: "Unable to determine R version from the
> >> registery. Calling the command 'R RHOME' does not return anything.
> >> This might be because R.exe is nowhere in your Path."
> >>
> >>
> >> I use Windows XP, QGIS 1.3.0. "Mimas" and R 2.9.1. I also installed
> >> Python, R packages rgdal and adehabitat and rpy2 as stated in the
> >> install file of the HomeRange_plugin (I must admit I only have a vague
> >> idea of what is Python and rpy2 are). However, in the QGIS Wiki page
> >> of HomeRange plugin, it is written that "libraries MUST be installed
> >> with the OSGeo4W installer". Maybe it is the source of my problem,
> >> because I have not use OSGeo4W to install the previous items (in fact
> >> I still don't know how to use it and I have so much to learn in the
> >> open source gis world). Does anyone have an idea of what could be the
> >> problem?
> >
> > Hi Mathieu,
> >
> > the RHOME problem is quite common, as the R installer often fails in
> > adding the environment variable to the system. This means that other
> > programs (rpy2) don't know where R is installed and can't call it.
> > You can solve the RHOME issue by adding the path to R installation (e.g.
> > C:\Programs\R\R-2.9.1\bin) to the Environment variables, calling it
> > "RHOME":
> > http://cran.r-project.org/bin/windows/base/rw-FAQ.html#How-do-I-set-environment-variables_003f
> >
> >
> > the dependencies are indeed the greatest difficulty of HR_plugin
> > install, especially on Windows, sorry...
> >
> > QGIS can be installed either as standalone program
> > http://download.osgeo.org/qgis/win32/QGIS-1.3.0-3-No-GrassSetup.exe
> >
> > either via OSGeo4W installer, that offers also other programs
> > http://trac.osgeo.org/osgeo4w/
> >
> > The standalone installation has advantages and disadvantages. It allows
> > you to use the system's Python and have a better control on all
> > programs, but requires you to keep an eye on all dependencies and pay
> > attention when upgrading each of them.
> > The OSGeo4W installer allows you to install QGIS, Python and rpy2 all
> > together, except R that needs to be installed separately. The upgrades
> > are smoother, but the Python it uses is its own, not the system's
> > Python. So if you install some packages for the system's Python, QGIS'
> > Python won't use them.
> >
> > I hope this explanation gives some light on the topic :) if not, feel
> > free to ask for more info!
> >
> > regards,
> >
> > Anne
> > -- 
> >
> >
> > 0< ascii ribbon campaign - stop html mail - http://www.asciiribbon.org
> > -----------------------------------------------------------
> > Please consider the environment before printing this email
> > -----------------------------------------------------------
> > Per favore non mandatemi allegati in formati proprietari
> > Please do not send attachments in proprietary formats
> > (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc.)
> > Meglio usare formati standaridzzati e documentati
> > Better use standard open formats
> > (.odt, .txt, .html, .pdf, .shp, dump SQL)
> > http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/no-word-attachments.html
> > Standard UNI CEI ISO/IEC 26300:2007
> > -------------- next part --------------
> > A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> > Name: not available
> > Type: application/pgp-signature
> > Size: 198 bytes
> > Desc: This is a digitally signed message part
> > URL: 
> > <http://lists.faunalia.it/pipermail/animov/attachments/20100105/f2e90c2b/attachment-0001.pgp>
> >
> > ------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 3
> > Date: Tue, 05 Jan 2010 10:04:39 +0100
> > From: Giovanni Manghi <giovanni.manghi at gmail.com>
> > Subject: Re: [AniMov] HomeRange plugin - installation problem
> > To: Animal Movement <animov at faunalia.it>
> > Message-ID: <1262682279.11855.71.camel at sibirica>
> > Content-Type: text/plain
> >
> > Hi,
> >
> >
> >
> >>
> >> I have a problem with the installation of the HomeRange plugin. I get
> >> the following error message: "Unable to determine R version from the
> >> registery. Calling the command 'R RHOME' does not return anything.
> >> This might be because R.exe is nowhere in your Path."
> >
> >
> >
> > After installing R on a windows platform you need to add the path to the
> > R binaries in the windows "path" environment variable
> >
> > open
> >
> > control panel -> system -> advanced -> environment variables -> path
> >
> > the click "edit" and then add in the end a ";" and then the path to R
> > binaries, ex: "C:\Program Files\R\R-2.9.1\bin"
> >
> > you will need to reboot to see the effect of the changes
> >
> >
> >
> >> I use Windows XP, QGIS 1.3.0. "Mimas" and R 2.9.1. I also installed
> >> Python, R packages rgdal and adehabitat and rpy2 as stated in the
> >> install file of the HomeRange_plugin (I must admit I only have a vague
> >> idea of what is Python and rpy2 are).
> >
> >
> >
> > If I'm not wrong now there are other two dependencies, R packages
> > "shapefiles" and "gpclib". I believe you'll need R 2.10 to install the
> > gpclib library.
> >
> > Using R 2.10 it will allow you to use other cool R based tools in qgis,
> > like the "manageR" and the "spatial data analisys for point pattern"
> > plugins.
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >>  However, in the QGIS Wiki page of HomeRange plugin, it is written
> >> that "libraries MUST be installed with the OSGeo4W installer". Maybe
> >> it is the source of my problem, because I have not use OSGeo4W to
> >> install the previous items (in fact I still don't know how to use it
> >> and I have so much to learn in the open source gis world). Does anyone
> >> have an idea of what could be the problem?
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > This means that if you installed qgis (and consequently python) with the
> > osgeo4w installer, then you'll need to install the required python
> > modules with the same osgeo4w installer (you'll find them in the "libs"
> > section of the installer wizard).
> >
> > It is my opinion that actually installing qgis with the osgeo4w
> > installer is better: easier to manage, to update (try qgis 1.4, it is a
> > major update since 1.3) and you have all what you need a few mouse
> > clicks away.
> >
> >
> > cheers
> >
> > -- Giovanni --
> >
> >
> >
> > ------------------------------
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > AniMov mailing list
> > AniMov at faunalia.it
> > http://lists.faunalia.it/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/animov
> >
> >
> > End of AniMov Digest, Vol 52, Issue 1
> > *************************************
> > 
> _______________________________________________
> AniMov mailing list
> AniMov at faunalia.it
> http://lists.faunalia.it/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/animov

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 198 bytes
Desc: This is a digitally signed message part
URL: <http://lists.faunalia.it/pipermail/animov/attachments/20100105/2107d800/attachment.pgp>


More information about the AniMov mailing list