[AniMov] Homerange Plugin Problem

acorbit at hotmail.com acorbit at hotmail.com
Tue Jan 5 17:43:46 CET 2010


Hi,

I'm newbie with QGIS and the HomeRange plugin. Thanks to this mailing list I 
just figured out how to overcome the "RHOME problem" to get the plugin to 
install. Now I have another problem in that the plugin simply won't work. 
The plugin window comes up but when I click "ok" to run the analysis I get 
the following Python error:

An error has occured while executing Python code:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File 
"C:/Users/Corbit/.qgis//python/plugins\HomeRange_plugin\HRplugin_dialog.py", 
line 76, in
    QObject.connect(self.buttonBox, SIGNAL("accepted()"), lambda mth=mth: 
self.run(mth))
  File 
"C:/Users/Corbit/.qgis//python/plugins\HomeRange_plugin\HRplugin_dialog.py", 
line 178, in run
    if not robjects.r.require(i)[0]:
NameError: global name 'robjects' is not defined

Python version:
2.5.2 (r252:60911, Feb 21 2008, 13:11:45) [MSC v.1310 32 bit (Intel)]

Python path:['C:/Program Files/Quantum GIS Mimas/./python', 
'C:/Users/Corbit/.qgis//python/plugins', 'C:/Program Files/Quantum GIS 
Mimas/./python/plugins', 'C:\\Program Files\\Quantum GIS 
Mimas\\bin\\python25.zip', '.\\DLLs', '.\\lib', '.\\lib\\plat-win', 
'.\\lib\\lib-tk', 'C:\\Program Files\\Quantum GIS Mimas\\bin', 'C:\\Program 
Files\\Quantum GIS Mimas\\python\\plugins\\fTools\\tools']

I really have no idea how to fix this problem. Any help would be 
appreciated.

-Aaron Corbit

--------------------------------------------------
From: <animov-request at faunalia.it>
Sent: Tuesday, January 05, 2010 3:00 AM
To: <animov at faunalia.it>
Subject: AniMov Digest, Vol 52, Issue 1

> Send AniMov mailing list submissions to
> animov at faunalia.it
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> http://lists.faunalia.it/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/animov
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> animov-request at faunalia.it
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
> animov-owner at faunalia.it
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of AniMov digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
>   1. HomeRange plugin - installation problem (Mathieu Ouellette)
>   2. Re: HomeRange plugin - installation problem (Anne Ghisla)
>   3. Re: HomeRange plugin - installation problem (Giovanni Manghi)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Mon, 4 Jan 2010 23:52:15 -0500
> From: Mathieu Ouellette <ouellette.mathieu at gmail.com>
> Subject: [AniMov] HomeRange plugin - installation problem
> To: animov at faunalia.it
> Message-ID:
> <97a1b4331001042052t11e2e45cw8ee38f15deab20cb at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> Hi,
>
> I'm a newbie with Quantum GIS (I got it 2 days ago) and I probably have a
> very newbie problem.
>
> I have a problem with the installation of the HomeRange plugin. I get the
> following error message: "Unable to determine R version from the 
> registery.
> Calling the command 'R RHOME' does not return anything. This might be
> because R.exe is nowhere in your Path."
>
> I use Windows XP, QGIS 1.3.0. "Mimas" and R 2.9.1. I also installed 
> Python,
> R packages rgdal and adehabitat and rpy2 as stated in the install file of
> the HomeRange_plugin (I must admit I only have a vague idea of what is
> Python and rpy2 are). However, in the QGIS Wiki page of HomeRange plugin, 
> it
> is written that "libraries *MUST* be installed with the OSGeo4W 
> installer".
> Maybe it is the source of my problem, because I have not use OSGeo4W to
> install the previous items (in fact I still don't know how to use it and I
> have so much to learn in the open source gis world). Does anyone have an
> idea of what could be the problem?
>
> Thank you very much for your help,
>
> Mathieu Ouellette
> ouellette.mathieu at gmail.com
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: 
> <http://lists.faunalia.it/pipermail/animov/attachments/20100104/cf115006/attachment.html>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Tue, 05 Jan 2010 10:03:12 +0100
> From: Anne Ghisla <a.ghisla at gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [AniMov] HomeRange plugin - installation problem
> To: Animal Movement <animov at faunalia.it>
> Message-ID: <1262682192.3449.17.camel at galadriel.uagra.net>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
>
> On Mon, 2010-01-04 at 23:52 -0500, Mathieu Ouellette wrote:
>> Hi,
>
>> I'm a newbie with Quantum GIS (I got it 2 days ago) and I probably
>> have a very newbie problem.
>>
>>
>> I have a problem with the installation of the HomeRange plugin. I get
>> the following error message: "Unable to determine R version from the
>> registery. Calling the command 'R RHOME' does not return anything.
>> This might be because R.exe is nowhere in your Path."
>>
>>
>> I use Windows XP, QGIS 1.3.0. "Mimas" and R 2.9.1. I also installed
>> Python, R packages rgdal and adehabitat and rpy2 as stated in the
>> install file of the HomeRange_plugin (I must admit I only have a vague
>> idea of what is Python and rpy2 are). However, in the QGIS Wiki page
>> of HomeRange plugin, it is written that "libraries MUST be installed
>> with the OSGeo4W installer". Maybe it is the source of my problem,
>> because I have not use OSGeo4W to install the previous items (in fact
>> I still don't know how to use it and I have so much to learn in the
>> open source gis world). Does anyone have an idea of what could be the
>> problem?
>
> Hi Mathieu,
>
> the RHOME problem is quite common, as the R installer often fails in
> adding the environment variable to the system. This means that other
> programs (rpy2) don't know where R is installed and can't call it.
> You can solve the RHOME issue by adding the path to R installation (e.g.
> C:\Programs\R\R-2.9.1\bin) to the Environment variables, calling it
> "RHOME":
> http://cran.r-project.org/bin/windows/base/rw-FAQ.html#How-do-I-set-environment-variables_003f
>
>
> the dependencies are indeed the greatest difficulty of HR_plugin
> install, especially on Windows, sorry...
>
> QGIS can be installed either as standalone program
> http://download.osgeo.org/qgis/win32/QGIS-1.3.0-3-No-GrassSetup.exe
>
> either via OSGeo4W installer, that offers also other programs
> http://trac.osgeo.org/osgeo4w/
>
> The standalone installation has advantages and disadvantages. It allows
> you to use the system's Python and have a better control on all
> programs, but requires you to keep an eye on all dependencies and pay
> attention when upgrading each of them.
> The OSGeo4W installer allows you to install QGIS, Python and rpy2 all
> together, except R that needs to be installed separately. The upgrades
> are smoother, but the Python it uses is its own, not the system's
> Python. So if you install some packages for the system's Python, QGIS'
> Python won't use them.
>
> I hope this explanation gives some light on the topic :) if not, feel
> free to ask for more info!
>
> regards,
>
> Anne
> -- 
>
>
> 0< ascii ribbon campaign - stop html mail - http://www.asciiribbon.org
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> Please consider the environment before printing this email
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> Per favore non mandatemi allegati in formati proprietari
> Please do not send attachments in proprietary formats
> (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc.)
> Meglio usare formati standaridzzati e documentati
> Better use standard open formats
> (.odt, .txt, .html, .pdf, .shp, dump SQL)
> http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/no-word-attachments.html
> Standard UNI CEI ISO/IEC 26300:2007
> -------------- next part --------------
> A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> Name: not available
> Type: application/pgp-signature
> Size: 198 bytes
> Desc: This is a digitally signed message part
> URL: 
> <http://lists.faunalia.it/pipermail/animov/attachments/20100105/f2e90c2b/attachment-0001.pgp>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 3
> Date: Tue, 05 Jan 2010 10:04:39 +0100
> From: Giovanni Manghi <giovanni.manghi at gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [AniMov] HomeRange plugin - installation problem
> To: Animal Movement <animov at faunalia.it>
> Message-ID: <1262682279.11855.71.camel at sibirica>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> Hi,
>
>
>
>>
>> I have a problem with the installation of the HomeRange plugin. I get
>> the following error message: "Unable to determine R version from the
>> registery. Calling the command 'R RHOME' does not return anything.
>> This might be because R.exe is nowhere in your Path."
>
>
>
> After installing R on a windows platform you need to add the path to the
> R binaries in the windows "path" environment variable
>
> open
>
> control panel -> system -> advanced -> environment variables -> path
>
> the click "edit" and then add in the end a ";" and then the path to R
> binaries, ex: "C:\Program Files\R\R-2.9.1\bin"
>
> you will need to reboot to see the effect of the changes
>
>
>
>> I use Windows XP, QGIS 1.3.0. "Mimas" and R 2.9.1. I also installed
>> Python, R packages rgdal and adehabitat and rpy2 as stated in the
>> install file of the HomeRange_plugin (I must admit I only have a vague
>> idea of what is Python and rpy2 are).
>
>
>
> If I'm not wrong now there are other two dependencies, R packages
> "shapefiles" and "gpclib". I believe you'll need R 2.10 to install the
> gpclib library.
>
> Using R 2.10 it will allow you to use other cool R based tools in qgis,
> like the "manageR" and the "spatial data analisys for point pattern"
> plugins.
>
>
>
>
>
>>  However, in the QGIS Wiki page of HomeRange plugin, it is written
>> that "libraries MUST be installed with the OSGeo4W installer". Maybe
>> it is the source of my problem, because I have not use OSGeo4W to
>> install the previous items (in fact I still don't know how to use it
>> and I have so much to learn in the open source gis world). Does anyone
>> have an idea of what could be the problem?
>
>
>
>
> This means that if you installed qgis (and consequently python) with the
> osgeo4w installer, then you'll need to install the required python
> modules with the same osgeo4w installer (you'll find them in the "libs"
> section of the installer wizard).
>
> It is my opinion that actually installing qgis with the osgeo4w
> installer is better: easier to manage, to update (try qgis 1.4, it is a
> major update since 1.3) and you have all what you need a few mouse
> clicks away.
>
>
> cheers
>
> -- Giovanni --
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> AniMov mailing list
> AniMov at faunalia.it
> http://lists.faunalia.it/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/animov
>
>
> End of AniMov Digest, Vol 52, Issue 1
> *************************************
> 


More information about the AniMov mailing list